The Teaching and Training

Pa-Auk Meditation Chart

The chart showing the way to practise The Four Elements Meditation and Mindfulness of Breathing

Pa-Auk Meditation Chart-Sayadaw Adjusted(Final)

Pa-Auk Forest Monastery (Pa-Auk Tawya in Burmese) is a Buddhist monastery in the Theravāda tradition, with emphasis on the teaching and practice of both Samatha (tranquility) and Vipassanā (insight) meditation.


  • Mindfulness-of-Breathing (ānāpānassati) – to develop absorption concentration (the four jhānas)
  • Most of the 40 Samatha subjects taught by The Buddha – including loving-kindness (mettā) meditation, the thirty-two parts of the body,      the ten kasinas and the four immaterial jhānas
  • Four-Elements Meditation – to analyze ultimate materiality and      ultimate mentality
  • Dependent Origination – to discern past, present and future lives by analyzing their causes and conditions
  • Vipassanā  Meditation – to discern the five aggregates (materiality and mentality) as  impermanent, subject to suffering and without a self

The meditation taught at Pa-Auk Tawya is based on the instructions by The Buddha as found in the Tipiṭika (the Pāli Canon) and its commentaries.

In brief, the main practice is to begin with Samatha (tranquility) meditation, which is to develop absorption concentration, also called jhāna. A yogi (meditator) is free to choose any of the forty Samatha subjects as taught by The Buddha. In Pa-Auk Tawya, most yogis develop jhāna with mindfulness-of-breathing (ānāpānassati). Having developed Samatha, the yogi may proceed to practise Vipassanā (insight) meditation.

As an alternative, the yogi may omit the development of jhāna. He/she (“he”) will be taught instead to develop the less powerful access concentration with the Samatha subject of Four-Elements meditation, prior to the practice of Vipassanā meditation. In either case, the concentration attained by the yogi produces the ‘light of wisdom’.

Having completed the development of his/her (“his”) Samatha meditation, the yogi is then taught to protect his practice with the Four Protective Meditations of Mettā (Loving Kindness), Buddhānussati (Recollection of The Buddha), Asubha (Repulsiveness of the Body), and Maranānussati (Recollection of Death).

Following that, the yogi will be taught to prepare the way for Vipassanā meditation, which is to use the ‘light of wisdom’ to discern ultimate materiality and mentality. The yogi will also be taught to discern the workings of Dependent Origination (paticcasamuppāda). This means he will discern a number of past and future lives, and to discern the causes for certain rebirths.

Only upon having discerned ultimate materiality and mentality and their causes (Dependent Origination), does the yogi have the necessary objects for Vipassanā meditation. The practice of Vipassanā meditation is to discern the three characteristics of impermanence (anicca), suffering (dukkha), and non-self (anatta) in ultimate materiality and mentality – of past, present, and future, internal and external, gross and subtle, inferior and superior, far and near.

In accordance with the Visuddhimagga (Path of Purification), the yogi will be taught a series of detailed practices by which to develop and strengthen his Vipassanā knowledge of materiality and mentality of past, present and future. In this way, the yogi may progress through the different insight knowledges, preliminary to the attainment of Nibbāna.

Should the yogi attain Nibbāna, he will be taught how to discern which defilements have been destroyed, and which stage of enlightenment he has reached. With continued practice, the yogi may destroy all the taints, and be able to attain Arahantship, meaning he will have put a complete end to rebirth and suffering.

For further details of the teaching of meditation, please refer to the book Knowing and Seeing(4th Rev) by the Venerable Pa-Auk Tawya Sayadaw.

Learn more about…

Download Pa-Auk Meditation Chart:

Download the following Pa-Auk Meditation manuals & books:

1. English Dhamma eBooks

2. Myanmar Dhamma eBooks

  • Nibbanagamini (5 Big & 9 Brief Volumes)

3. Chinese Dhamma eBooks

Back to Top →

Home →